• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Looking for a .22 rifle

dingleberry

19/11/09
Howdy gun nuts.
Currently looking for a .22 rifle. I want a lever action repeater and the Browning BL-22 and the Henry H001 have caught my eye.

Any thoughts on these models?

:popcorn:

KBH

Mythical Poster
1/11/07
You still hunting armadillos, Dingle? Quite a delicacy I understand.:MousePanic:

houndoggie

16/11/08
I have a browning level action .22. Nice little rifle. Had it since I was a kid.

idontknow

Put Some Respect On My Name
Advisor
24/5/11
Southwest
Never heard anything bad about either one. I have sold a few of each (when I worked in a shop) and never saw one come back for repair or anything else.

Considering the cost, I would probably just go with the Henry. You will get just as many years of use out of it, and at a serious price difference (unless you can get a Browning cheap).

I personally just like using my .22 conversion in one of my AR's for plinking, but I am a semi kind of guy.

Howdy gun nuts.
Currently looking for a .22 rifle. I want a lever action repeater and the Browning BL-22 and the Henry H001 have caught my eye.

Any thoughts on these models?

:popcorn:

Anopsis

I'm Pretty Popular
5/8/09
The BL-22 is a bit high-priced (for my taste) and the Henry is good, but not great. This is reflected in its price as well.
My personal favorite in this style is the Marlin 39A. It's priced around the same as the BL-22. and is one of the finest-shooting rimfire leverguns I have ever owned. I know you didn't mention it, but I had to throw it out there for consideration!

Anopsis

I'm Pretty Popular
5/8/09
Pics of a 39A that I have:

4a8d6a30-c898-d50b.jpg

4a8d6a30-c8aa-f01e.jpg

Back on my iPhone using Tapatalk

idontknow

Advisor
24/5/11
Southwest
The BL-22 is a bit high-priced (for my taste) and the Henry is good, but not great. This is reflected in its price as well.