• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

A newbie attempt to make a 6263 rep. [step by step]

7-d-7

You're Saying I Can Sell?
5/9/18
Hi,

After lurking here and RWG, I decided to mod my Daytona !

The idea is to go from a Puretime 6263 to something somewhat approaching the real thing.

What I received:
rlx2016071502-01.jpg

What I target (minus the steel bracelet):
6263-marrone4-1.jpg

What I purchased:
. Daytona 6263 with venus 75 (Puretime)
. Athaya 702 crown
. Yuki dial + hands
. Crystal from Clark (eBay)
. Leather strap from Martha (eBay)
. Bezel from WatchNY (eBay)
. Amazon watchmaking kit

7-d-7

5/9/18
Day 0: Disassembling the rolex

As a total noob, I have zero experience in watchmaking. First off the watch itself is much smaller than on the picture (for anyone having tinkering with your computer before, I don't know if you understand that feeling: the chips & components look smaller than what you expected?).

The first step is to remove the bracelet.

Easy enough:
In the watch making kit one of the "screwdrivers" would have a 5 mm long round tip.
Put that tip in the strap hole at the base of the case.
Press firmly and wiggle the bracelet up and down until you feel the strap holder pin being dislodged from its case hole. (You have to press it relatively firmly)
Then maintaining the bracelet in position press the other end of the pin with your pin-tool-thingy
The bracelet would detach !

The second step is to remove the back of the case.

Ok this one was a little bit harder for me:
First off the caseback is screwed on the case (imagine the caseback as being the screw itself)
I used this thing to do that:
s-l1000.jpg

Actually because I am retarded I didn't use the case holder (in black) like on the pic to do so (because I just realised I can do that by googling for the image)