• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

JKF 1680 vs. BP 1680 (red)

thumbsarehandy

I'm Pretty Popular
26/4/17
Hallo everyone :)

could the experienced members please enlighten me about the differences between JKF 1680 vs. Bb 1680 (red).
So far, in searching, I've only read some members saying that the JKF 1680 is the better watch without saying precisely why. I assume if combined with modding?

In my case I'm not there yet, therefore my question concerns primarily an 'out of the box watch' (for now).

By looking with my nooby eyes at the pictures of the BP, I adore the deeper orange color of the markers, the beige date wheel, the size and font of the date and the more 'direct' printing of the word submariner.

Comparatively, the JKF with its light yellow markers with white frame, the hugely oversized date and font, etc. does not speak to me (yet).

Please also consider I'm new to this and therefore any pointer in the right direction would be very helpful and appreciated :)
Regards

tripdog

Super Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator
Certified
9/7/12
The JKF is a little closer to gen in it's case shape and construction, it also takes gen parts (with a little bit of modding).

The BP case is not very gen like, even if the dial printing maybe slightly better - printing on the JKF dials looks washed out.

If you intend to mod it, get the JKF, if not and you don't care about accuracy to gen, get the BP.

thumbsarehandy

I'm Pretty Popular
26/4/17
The JKF is a little closer to gen in it's case shape and construction, it also takes gen parts (with a little bit of modding).

The BP case is not very gen like, even if the dial printing maybe slightly better - printing on the JKF dials looks washed out.

If you intend to mod it, get the JKF, if not and you don't care about accuracy to gen, get the BP.

Thank you, @tripdog, very clearly explained! That helps a lot.