• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Help, want to replace A2836 with Omga cal. 565

MassMass

You're Saying I Can Sell?
1/9/16
Hi
I have a Seamaster 300 (https://www.intime04.co/omega/1188-omega-vintage-seamaster-300-date-ss-me-blk-a-2836.html) that I have given a vintage makeover. In order to take it to the next level I would like to replace the A2836 movement with an original omega 565, but since I have no experience, I would appreciate some help. Is it even possible?
My questions:

-First of all, will it fit in the case?
- I guess I need to move the “pins” on the back of the dial in order to fit the 565,how do I do that?
-Is the hands possible to attach on the 565?
-Is the date wheel the same diameter?
-I guess I need to get a new stem for the crown in order to fit the case, is it possible to re-use the crown?
-How do I make sure that the new movement is attached to the case properly?
-Is it anything else I need to consider before I decide if it is worth it or not?

Thanks a lot!

TomasDrogas

I buy watches and I know things
8/4/15
EU
It is difficult to say if the original 565 will fit your cage as it is significantly bigger than the 2836 but as per InTime pics I can see there is a huge ring around the movement so it might fit. Because you have the watch with you just take a caliber and take some measurements: if the outer ring is 27.9mm or greater, the 565 will fit.

2836 hands, DW and stem will definitely NOT fit a 565 so you will have to source those gen parts for your project too. You will probably be able to reuse the case screws that hold the movement tight, but I dont know if that will work.