• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Got the call from the AD today

Timeseetime

Horology Curious
17/9/19
Hello all - I've been on this sub for a few months and have become really interested in this hobby. After being told there was a 5 year wait, I put my name in for a Sub date at my local AD. Much to my surprise I got the call today after only two months. Unfortunately, I just placed and order with BK for a Noob sub date last week! Also, I bought a used Tudor GMT pepsi rep which I absolutely love. TBH, I am not sure the Sub date is my grail watch anymore. I really like some others including the Pepsi GMT Tudor and Rolex.

My question is this: If I go ahead and buy the watch how difficult would it be realistically to resale if I decided I didn't want it and for how much (cost at AD $8550...$9287 after tax)? I know the gray market is strong but I am new to this and have zero experience in this area. I've been given 24 hours to decide. Thoughts?

Last edited:

Timeseetime

Horology Curious
17/9/19
After a little research I found a local used dealer who offered me $9300 for it.....so no room for arbitrage there. Would have to sell to an individual (unlikely since I have no prior sales history) or pick it up today and pass it on to my son someday....which was my original intention.

KJ2020

Time Traveler
Supporter
12/3/18
Take a look at Bob's watches in CA. You can sell the watch to him. You have to send it to him for appraisal but you should be able to see what that model is worth to him and how much they are selling for. There are other ways to sell it of course like Chrono24 and Ebay.

Last edited:
Reactions: Timeseetime

thrillofhunt

Put Some Respect On My Name
Gold Patron
Certified
8/2/11
I think you should get it and keep it. Gen will always be gen, no matter how much you love your rep.

Timeseetime

Horology Curious
17/9/19