• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Rolex Datewheels: How is this so difficult?

kennygconspiracy

I'm Pretty Popular
21/4/19
So, small rant. I've been around the rep world long enough to see something is really wrong with how factories make Datewheels.

They manage to get so many more complex aspects right, down to such intricate and delicate details. Dial work, rehaut finishing, careful brushing etc.

Yet, for some reason, it seems to be an impossible dream to get a "font" right on a datewheel.

Let's forget the magnification for a second. And think about why getting the correct font remains a Herculean task.

Sounds like good business acumen to me. Purposefully leave a huge flaw i.e. leave a lot of room for people to come back and purchase the next version.

Please educate me if I missed something. I am still learning and would love to hear and learn from others!

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

Reactions: cpd2186

shortlegs

31/5/19
I think several experts on the forums have said the factories are not interested in making super reps for the really popular models. They want to milk as for as much and as long as they could. Guess the strategy works, cos people are still buying them in droves.

Reactions: kennygconspiracy

Raddave

Most Delicious of all Nipples!
Staff member
Global Moderator
Administrator
Certified
24/12/11
IMO i think what it is , is we are a very small part of the rep world , and most ppl wont notice or even care about DW font , so they sell anyway .....

kennygconspiracy

I'm Pretty Popular
21/4/19
IMO i think what it is , is we are a very small part of the rep world , and most ppl wont notice or even care about DW font , so they sell anyway .....
That's what I thought as well initially. But when I see people vote on something being a good rep, or when QC is being done, all eyes generally go towards the datewheel.