• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Replica buyers mindset....

Watchfan69

Horology Curious
9/1/19
Curious to know what made you seek out to buy a replica. As I find out more and dive deeper into the Rep world got me thinking who are the buyers and what are they thinking.. At this point I have made one rep purchase which wasn’t perfect but hasn’t curbed my enthusiasum in the least. It won’t be my last rep purchase that is for sure.
If this has been posted or chatted about in the past please point me to the linky.

Thanks
RH

efajri

Put Some Respect On My Name
17/10/16
Midwest CONUS
I love watches. Whether it is a genuine or a replica; a swiss made or a chinese made; to me, a watch is a watch.

I bought my first watch when I was 9. It was a cheap Casio. I continued buying watches as I grew older. I bought an affordable gen tag heuer after I graduated high school. Then I bought a mid-level gen tag after graduating college. I bought my first rep datejust when I was living in Asia in late 90s, but I didn’t think much of the datejust as I continued wearing my gen tag until I replaced it with a gen Raymond Weil.

In 2003, I visited Asia again and I met an old friend, a physician, who re-introduced me to rolex rep. His rolex reps were beautiful. I bought a few rep datejusts (again) but these ones were better made. These reps lasted almost 10 years.

I stumbled upon RWI by accident as I was looking for a replacement bracelet for my gen tag heuer. I didn’t want to buy the genuine bracelet so I looked for replica.

Because I’ve owned good quality replicas before, RWI became the place where I can get reps without going to Asia.

Slowly but surely, my watch collection grew. From a few watches to 50+ watches in couple of years without breaking the bank.