• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Is there a "rule of thumb" for pricing?

wallaby1

Horology Curious
17/12/18
Florida, United States
Are reps similar to cars with pricing? Like you start with the base model, then get the bigger engine, maybe leather, bump up to a higher trim, etc?
Would a Royal Oak and an Oyster Perpetual be similarly priced since neither have any complications? Is there an average cost to add a chronograph like the Daytona? Is there an expected premium for moon phase or tourbillons? Do certain colors and finishes change cost due to demand? How much should I be paying for a clone movement, microstepper, or ETA (I'm sure I can search and answer the ETA question myself)?

I simply have no reference point when inquiring about a watch from a TD. I have my eye on a Speedmaster, but I don't know if I should expect it to be $300, $600, or even if four digit prices are out there.

Rx4Time

Supporter, Panerai lover
Supporter
Certified
31/3/16
CONUS
In the general sense yes the more expensive the better quality for the same model. There's a lot of variables so you need to read up everything you can find before purchasing so you don't end up buying a watch with known issues. Are you looking at a specific model?

wallaby1

Horology Curious
17/12/18
Florida, United States
The three I'm fawning over at the moment (in no particular order) are the Speedmaster Moonphase with blue dial, Speedmaster Silver Snoopy, and Royal Oak tourbillion.

I've seen movements out there that fake functions- such as chronometers that are just small second or hour hands- but I think I would regret not spending a little more to get the actual function.

I believe a decent ballpark for a DJ is 300 give or take. So adding a chronometer is 100 more? Double? Triple?

DaleM

I'm Pretty Popular
25/8/18
Central Florida