• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

AQUANAUT JUMBO 5167A DLC ZF 1:1 BEST EDITION BLACK DIAL ON BLACK RUBBER STRAP 324CS

WarDog24

Horology Curious
2/11/20
Hello everyone, I’m new to the game but always had a love for watches. I’m currently looking at an Patek Philippe AQUANAUT JUMBO 5167A DLC ZF 1:1 BEST EDITION BLACK DIAL ON BLACK RUBBER STRAP 324CS from trustytime. Can anyone tell me the best version of this rep or if this is the best version?

pavr

Looking Around
11/1/20
Hi - If you check the threads here there is quite a debate about this!
I advise you to search for 'Aquanaut 3K ZF' and you will find many inputs reviews and photos. Here is an overview:
The ZF is a great replica, and there has been a lot of recent noise about the new 3KF Factory which is producing a lovely model using a 'cloned' 324 mechanism which gives slightly greater authenticity, both in thickness and in rotary look (from rear). Which is best? I cannot decide!

ZF - Positives
- Tried and trusted Miyota mechanism
- Engraved rear case
- Better strap and clasp
- Better date window
- Evenness in lume colour and consistency
- Good case and bezel dimensions

ZF - Negatives
- Mechanism is not a replica to view from rear (cogs, wheels etc)
- Dial 'burst' a little shiny vs Gen
- Minolta is slightly noisy

3K - Positives
- Replica mechanism
- Good thickness (~8.5 vs ~8.8)
- Nice dial

3K - Negatives
- Mechanism untested, some reviews of complete breakdown
- Some reports of poor date position and size
- Strap apparently horrible
- Many comments of bezel thickness being too slightly large (may have been resolved, IMO unlikely)
- Rubber Strap version has gold insignia on rear (many reports of this having been resolved)
- Printed rear Patek Phillipe etc is not that impressive