• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

#1 Gen or Rep Game - Planet Ocean 42mm - Can You Tell the Difference?

exelonman

I'm Pretty Popular
2/1/10
It's been a long time since I have played this game and wanted see how good the Omega "experts" are?

42mm Planet Ocean, reference 2201.51

Please provide your opinion and why?

Thatwatchguy

Supporter
Supporter
Certified
9/7/17
I love this game...I was going to say rep based on the orange colour but that could be lighting. Triangle and pearl looks good, not sure about date font with only the 16 showing...so no idea!

R3w1nd

Renowned Member
29/8/17
UK
I’ll go with rep. 6,9,12 markers look off. I’m no omega expert tho.

k4jun

Ω Section Moderator
Section Moderator
Certified
25/4/15
Gen bezel, crown, helium valve, SEL (I assume the bracelet is the same hybrid as in your last FS so I am not going to comment on it further).
Crystal is super nice, super transparent, I can't tell whether it is gen or Mr.Prof.
Dial is gen, can't tell the hands for 100%, they look gen for me too.
Case has a nice side-profile but it has the omega globe, so it is not V5PO. The cutouts are very gen like, so whether the case is gen or you were lucky to find a LMPO case with a correct side profile.
Caseback. Judging but this one photo it looks somehow flat, rep caseback. It is unlikely to replace a caseback on gen:) so together with 2500C DW and a transparent AR it leads me towards the conclusion this is a Superfranken based on the nice LMPO case.

Last edited:

k4jun

Ω Section Moderator
Section Moderator
Certified
25/4/15
The most important question is - when are you going to have a holidays in Europe so I can buy this stunner without the customs risk? :D

solipsistic

You're Saying I Can Sell?
22/10/11
Never owned this model and I am by no means an expert. However: