• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

3120 Rotor in Platinum or other non-Gold Metal??

billykhan

Horology Curious
8/3/20
Hi folks. Newbie here to the forum, and as I introduced myself on the forum am actually not at all into Reps. However, I have a very peculiar issue for which I doubt I will get any feedback on the Genuine watch Forums.

Anyway to cut to the chase, I recently acquired my first AP (an SS RO 15450 Grey Dial) after many months of waiting and wishing. The watch is absolutely perfect in all ways, and I couldn't have been happier. Alas, I seemed to have missed out a very major detail in the composition of the watch. It was only after paying and taking delivery of the watch that I realised the rotor of the movement was made of solid 22ct Gold, and due to my religious beliefs, now find myself in a serious quandry as to whether I can even wear the watch or not! Majority opinion seems to veer to side of it not being permissible so I'm totally bummed :(

It would appear that pretty much every AP RO over the last many years has a movement with a solid Gold rotor, so I seem to be s**t out of luck finding an alternative. The only option I could actually think of was to replace the genuine rotor with a replica in either Platinum (or even Plated Gold, which may be acceptable from a religious point of view) and replace the rotor at service time (which I'm hoping wouldn't be very often).

The only other alternative would be to pick up the best quality rep (JF I believe) with a plated/non-solid Gold Rotor, which would certainly fool my peers (since they know the rest of my collection is Gen) but not sure whether it would really satisfy me in the long-term. I could live with a frankenwatch of my own choice, knowing 99% of the watch is Gen.