• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Replace movment or service?

pattyshack

You're Saying I Can Sell?
2/2/19
I'm pretty new to the rep watch thing and I recently purchased a noob v8 submariner which has the 2836 movement in it. The movement runs smoothly, but it definitely loses a decent amount of time daily. Is it more worthwhile to get it serviced or to replace the movement?

kaddy

Known Member
14/7/18
How much time? Is the watch new? You could just get it regulated.

GingerBubba

SUPERLATIVE SUPPORTER I'm an angel
24/10/17
Probably just needs regulating (or even demagnetising, though more likely the former) - a quick and cheap fix (even doabke at home, have a search on YouTube).

Rx4Time

Supporter, Panerai lover
Supporter
Certified
31/3/16
CONUS
It wasn't new. And anywhere from ~20s to ~60s daily

Not horrible. I'd look at instructional videos and threads on regulating it. If you are not comfortable, a watchsmith can do it for $30-$50. Trust me, it's not that hard on that movement.

pattyshack

2/2/19
Not horrible. I'd look at instructional videos and threads on regulating it. If you are not comfortable, a watchsmith can do it for $30-$50. Trust me, it's not that hard on that movement.
Yeah I watched a few videos and it doesn't look too bad so I may give it a try

Rx4Time

Supporter, Panerai lover
Supporter
Certified
31/3/16
CONUS
Yeah I watched a few videos and it doesn't look too bad so I may give it a try

Just make sure you hack the movement before adjusting and grease the seals to keep the gasket from binding.

KJ2020

Time Traveler
Supporter
12/3/18