• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Building and modding a « fantasy » Oyster Perpetual.

mascob1

6/11/16
Hi every one!
First I have to say I’m not a professional, so my work is not to a professional watchmaker level, but In my job I have access to CNC lathes and CNC centers and to Stainless Steel.
So I decided to try to make some “fantasy” watches with the material I had and with some “cheapies” watch cases…
Special Thanks to manodeoro who encouraged me to embark on this project, I made some parts for him and I was happy to see the result.
The watch case I had was a milgauss case, with a hugly green crystal gasket and really big lugs…Bezel was too big, but the case measuring 39mm and 6mm of thickness, too thin for a “real” milgauss but perfect for a 39mm Oyster perpetual…
1fc4.JPG

39mm Oysters perpetual have rounded bezels, so I decided to machine a rounded bezel.
I also need to grind and sand the lugs because OP’s lugs are thinner than the case I had.
23f8.JPG

3427.JPG

505f.JPG

I need to machine a new gasket too because the green one was horrible and completely off for a OP.

13.JPG

Thanks to Spatiumtemporis, I managed to machine a white nylon gasket that fits with the new bezel and the new crystal ( For that I need 5 tries: It’s difficult to make a gasket that tighten the bezel on the case and tighten the crystal on the bezel…)
6b3f.JPG

After all I had a “blue milgauss “dial, very nice, with a beautiful sunburst…But definitely not gen-like at all!
I put it in the case, with of course an automatic movement and OP hands…
The result was nice…
8.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

After that, I found a bracelet and a claps, and finaly polish the side of the watch.
Yes I know, this is clearly not gen-like, that doesn’t fool anyone, but In final I had a old unused case and now I have my “own” and “unique” Oster perpetual.

7.JPG

Reactions: johnlogan

kilowattore