• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

ARF Datejust with A2824: Attempt at full service but advice needed

Plaasbaas

IWC-hoarder and PAM-hunter
Supporter
Certified
4/4/21
Germany
Hi everybody,

apart from collecting watches, I have developped an interest in being able to understand what's going on inside and like to play around with project watches that need some love. As a complete rookie I would never dare to fiddle around with my favourite ones, at least not yet, too afraid to scratch or break something. Need much more confidence.

So a couple of weeks ago I bought an ARF Datejust 41mm with an A2824 movement, fluted bezel and jubilee bracelet. All that was missing was the hands and the winding stem.

After receiving a set of hands and a stem from ebay and finding out that the keyless obviously needs a reset (if not worse) I was eager to dismantle the whole thing and put it back together - learning about this movement in the process. This is my very first attempt in doing so. I attached some pics below.
jBPhqn.jpg

jBP2X3.jpg

jBPAbs.jpg

jBPeUY.jpg

jBP5QD.jpg

jBPURk.jpg

jBPaho.jpg

jBPi9J.jpg

jBPmsP.jpg

Thanks to youtube and the ever so useful manual shared by great fellow member PsychoTee16 all went well. Didn't know how to get the datewheel back on again because I did not want to re-glue the overlay, but somehow I managed. Date quickset in the respective crown position works flawlessly.
jBPqZW.jpg

jBPIqS.jpg

After all that I regulated the sh** out of it and am quite happy with myself until this point lol.
jBPnfK.jpg

But now I'm stuck and hope for advice:
The hands I got sit too low on the dial. The hour hand was basically touching the dial. It moved when manipulating the crown but I stopped immediately out of fear to scratch something.

Do ARF hands have longer shafts? Do I need one of the hand height kits below, and if yes which one?
jBP8hv.jpg