• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Problems clearing Chinese Customs while sending reps back for repairs

lolo1972sg

Put Some Respect On My Name
Certified
3/10/15
Sillypore
Hi all
I am not sure how many of us here send their reps back to TD for repairs but i surely do. And I have been doing this for many years with no issue until recently. One of the parcels that I sent back is stuck at Chinese customs. I was told that I have to pay duties (and valuation is based on genuine watch price) OR the parcel will be destroyed (if I declare the content as replica) OR get the parcel sent back to me.
I am wondering how many of you have similar experiences recently.
If this is becoming a trend, then all of us should be informed and be aware.
Cheers

Reactions: rj999

freediver

I'm Pretty Popular
24/3/17
It is better if you can fix something in your local watchsmith

Sending to china has a risk and of course the 6 month delay at least

How sure were you that your watch has been serviced in China? Have you opened it?

lolo1972sg

Certified
3/10/15
Sillypore
6 months? Has never been that long for me.
How I know it is serviced? It was dead before and it is not dead after service.

Actually, my intention is to warn those who have been sending reps back to TD for service that there seems to be a change of SOP at the Chinese customs. So communicate with your TD and understand whether they will take responsibility prior to sending the reps back to China for service. Else, finding a local watchsmith is another option.

Reactions: rj999

shr0uded

You're Saying I Can Sell?
9/12/10
I sent back something on 9th Sept, has been stuck until now... I'm not sure how much of it is due to the Chinese National Day holidays?

rpsmithbarney

You're Saying I Can Sell?
11/2/19
CONUS