• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

An outsider's perspective/love letter to RWI

newest dude on the forum

Some Guy
Supporter
Certified
17/8/20
The EnGrave Yard
I'm very new to rep watches. I've been a watch enthusiast for a while and I ended up here the same way that I imagine most people have lately. Specifically, I saw a YouTube video in which they were lamenting/warning of the high quality of counterfeit watches. Rather than be alarmed or worried I thought "well damn, why the hell would I buy a genuine watch if these are every ounce the watch at a fraction of the cost?" So, I did some googling and found RWI. I didn't immediately join, I just kind of wanted to observe and see what it was all about. I quickly learned that the YouTube video was full of hyperbole and that there aren't any replicas that are *exactly* the same as the genuine watch, but they were still damn good. I was certainly intrigued. The community seemed a bit standoffish. I saw multiple people get roasted for asking questions that to a new guy seemed valid, but which I now realize are tired questions that don't really have a clear answer ("who has the best sub" etc). After reading a bit I realized that there were no easy answers and that the level of detail with which these watches were scrutinized was intense. I leaned heavily on the NWBIG list and tried to understand what made something NWBIG. That list is a fantastic resource for people not looking to kill themselves with the research.

I have 2 main observations as someone who is very new to this.
1. This hobby is not the same as the hobby of watch collecting
2. This community is fantastic and welcoming, contrary to my initial impression