• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

How do you correctly wind a manual watch?

buffett23

Horology Curious
2/9/20
So first off, I am not an idiot (hopefully), but I am a super noob when it comes to manual wind watches. Hence this is a super noob question. My question is how do you correctly wind a manually watch? I know you pull the crown out to the correct position and wind, but what i really want to know is how do you tell which direction to wind it? Is there a correct direction or do both directions work? Does the direction differ between watches? If so, how do you tell which direction is correct for a specific watch? Can you ruin a watch if you wind it the wrong direction? How do you know when you have wound it enough? Can you over wind the watch and ruin it? I know most reps (all?) don't come with Owner's Manuals, so I can't just RTFM and I don't really want to ruin a new $500 watch. :) Please help. Thanks in advance!!!

gindiesel

12/10/20
Canada
On my gen Datejust, I unscrew the crown, pull to the first notch, then wind counter clockwise. You should be able to find the gen owners manual instructions online that will match your rep.

buffett23

Horology Curious
2/9/20
Thanks for the reply! I figured since the movements are completely different from gen to rep that they may not wind the same so I didn't even think about looking for the gen owner's manual. Is it common for the reps and gens to be wound the same?

scottiedog

I'm Pretty Popular
15/7/16
Firstly, hello and :welcome:

Secondly, I dont think its a stupid question at all, in fact maybe that is because I dont actually know the answers myself (not for all watches anyway).

So, I cant say for all watches, but an ETA 2824 winds clockwise...

So in answer to one of your questions, they certainly do wind in different directions as gindiesel mentions counter clockwise on his gen Rolex!