• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Is it a good time to purchase a genuine luxury watch ?

Suss

Horology Curious
30/8/20
United Kingdom
First and foremost, I am not a professional at all, just a wristwatch enthusiast and a consumers.

I have always been so passionate about luxury watches, however like many I just haven't had the funds available to purchase one.

Finally I find possible to truly think on buying a gen timepiece.

In your opinion is the watch industry’s status and the global economy, (just like properties) in a good moment to purchase a gen watch? Are sellers motivated?

Is there any particular type of watches are popular for value depreciation?

I am trying to summarize my predictions about which watches people will be buying in 2020, as well as general trends the watch industry will see for at least the next 12 months.

Looking forward to hearing from your comments.

Thanks in advance

With regards
Suss

Nanook65

I'm Pretty Popular
3/12/16
In your opinion is the watch industry’s status and the global economy, (just like properties) in a good moment to purchase a gen watch? Are sellers motivated?

Since you are asking for opinions, I'll give mine. Luxury watches are not ever a good investment. Depending on the watch you almost always lose a minimum of 25% the minute you walk out the door of the AD with your brand new watch and in some cases it is a lot worse. Guys will argue that this not the case with Rolex, but the problem with that is this not normal and furthermore since this is your 1st big purchase the Rolex AD isn't going to sell to your anyway.

I love watches just as much as anyone, but I don't have a lot of extra discretionary money laying around that I feel like giving to the local AD so what I do is buy them preowned and that reduces the hit to just about nothing.