• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Movement question

Elitek9

Horology Curious
17/9/14
I am a self admitted noob and brand new to replicas. I have a couple of questions that I hope someone can help me with. I am looking at two submariners. The 1st is a VRF with the Asian super 3135 movement. The second is the ARF with the A2824 movement. I would like to purchase the watch with the Asian super 3135, but have done research that may suggest that the movement may be unreliable. Here are my questions: Are the majority of 3135 movements bad out of the box? What would servicing that movement cost ballpark?, if I could find someone who would be willing to work on the watch. Am I better off just going with the A2824? Hope this makes some type of sense. I have been doing research for three straight days and my head is spinning lol. Thanks in advance for any advice I may recieve.

Rx4Time

Supporter, Panerai lover
Supporter
Certified
31/3/16
CONUS
1. Movement service will cost $150-$200, plus the SA /VRF superclones each have recommended genuine parts to be swapped in to improve reliability.
2. The superclone movements all need a service to clean them up. Some run better than others. They are less reliable than the 2824 and more expensive to fix.
3. There's a watchsmith section so you can look for someone in your region.

Unless you are planning to build a franken with genuine dial, hands or datewheel, get the 2824.

Reactions: Elitek9

Nanook65

I'm Pretty Popular
3/12/16
Unless you are planning to build a franken with genuine dial, hands or datewheel, get the 2824.